The Book of Mudora

explanation of chapters


The stories from the past retold. They add a lot of depth to the series if you read them all, I hope you enjoy.

These are not in order by release date. It's more like the order I think they should be in. That way, when you read them, they'll make a little more sense... If you don't like it, to bad. Mwahahahaha.

The order is:

  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • Zelda II: The Adventure of Link

Also, one thing I have discovered form re-reading them, the games do have a definite order. I have heard it said that Link's Awakening could come anywhere in the series, but according to the official players guide, it DOES come after A Link to the Past. That makes sense because the wizard Agahnim is one of the nightmares he has to fight. It would only make sense that, then, this was an enemy that this Link had known.

In A Link to the Past Hyrule was still in it's glory, then, centuries later it had decayed into the Hyrule of The Legend of Zelda. Then, a few years later, towns sprung up and it was the world of Adventures of Link. The geography changes rather drastically in a few short years... but that's not story so I'll just ignore that for now.

I think all that makes sense and it's another reason I wanted to provide all the official stories on this page. To clear up the confusion. Maybe it won't do that, I haven't read many other peoples theories on the subject, but I think it makes sense. Even if you don't believe this, it's just really how I've always believed it should be. So, please, just for me, try not to let it bother you. This is just a little fan site and that's just my little opinion. ^_^

1.The Legends of Hyrule
  • Zelda 3
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Booklet.
  • Read about the creation myths of Hyrule. The Golden Land where Ganon found the Triforce and the war the ensued to imprison him.

2.Worlds Apart, 3.The Captive, 4.Spellbound

  • Zelda 3
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Nintendo Player's Guide.
  • The stories from the first 3 games. Told with beautiful illustrations.
  • Worlds Apart: A Link to the Past overview.
  • The Captive: Legend of Zelda overview.
  • Spellbound: Adventure's of Link overview.


  • Zelda 4
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening Booklet.
  • Very brief story about how link ends up on Koholint Island.

6.Hyrulean Odyssey

  • Zelda 4
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening Nintendo Player's Guide.
  • Brief stories of all the games up to this point. Pretty nice Illustrations.

7.A Long, Long, Time Ago...

  • Zelda 1
  • The Legend of Zelda Booklet.
  • ARGH! I lost my booklet! I have a Xerox of the booklet that I got from Nintendo's web store, but the pictures suck so I had to borrow them from another website. As soon as I find my book I will put up bigger pictures here, and in the gallery section.

8.The Story

  • Zelda 2
  • Zelda II: The Adventures of Link Booklet.
  • This story explains a lot about why there are a billion Zeldas and also other key factors to the story that re-apear in later games. Like the making on his hand which, I might add, appeared when he was around 16, he wasn't born with it.

The Legend Continues:

  • This section will be done diffrently later, but for now it features the in game story for A Link to the Past.